Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee

Tuesday, January 27, 2020-Page 1

The Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee (WCTCC) met on Monday, January 27, 2020, in the Westmoreland Intermediate Unit, 102 Equity Drive, Greensburg, PA.

CALL TO ORDER: The WCTCC Chairman Scott Sistek called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with

the following members present:

& Open Records Officer

WCTCC Chairman -Scott Sistek -New Stanton Borough, Sewickley

Township

WCTCC Vice-Chairman -Diane Heming -South Greensburg Borough,

Murrysville Borough

WCTCC Secretary -Caprice Mills -Donegal Borough, Mt. Pleasant

Township, Cook Township,

Donegal Township, Mt Pleasant Borough, Mt. Pleasant Township, South Huntingdon Township, Unity Township, East Huntingdon Township,

Salem Township

J. R. Dzurica -Belle Vernon Area School District, Belle Vernon Borough-Fayette

County, Greensburg Salem School District

Jennifer S. Callahan -Burrell School District, Lower Burrell City

Joe Koluder, Jr.

Scott Chappell

Wayne Wismar

Jon Perry

Paul Sroka

Dan Watson

-Derry Area School District

-Hempfield Area School District

-Franklin Regional School District

-Jeannette City School District

-Greater Latrobe School District

-Ligonier Valley School District

Ryan Kirsch
James J. Meyer
Lori Latta
-Norwin School District
-Yough School District
-Derry Borough
-Derry Township

Colleen Gain -City of Greensburg-Greensburg Salem and Hempfield Area

School Districts

Gregory Primm -Allegheny Township, Avonmore Borough, Bell Township, East

Vandergrift Borough, Hyde Park Borough, Oklahoma Borough,

Vandergrift Borough, Washington Township

Christine Marchand -Manor Borough-Hempfield Area and Penn Trafford School Districts

Mary E. Ralston -Parks Township Mary Perez -Penn Township

Charles B. Cook -Upper Tyrone Township

John Habel, III -Washington Township-Fayette County

Melissa Cortileso -Upper Burrell Township
Margaret Graham -New Alexandria Borough
Kevin Fait -South Greensburg Borough

Diane Schaefer -Youngwood Borough, Hunker Borough
A quorum was present (60.15%)

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> - Charles Cook **MOVED** to approve the minutes from the January 29, 2019 WCTCC Meeting, and Diane Schaefer **SECONDED**. No discussion. **Motion carried**.

PUBLIC COMMENT-For the record there was no public comment presented at the meeting.

<u>TREASURER'S REPORT</u>-Caprice Mills reported for Diane Figg. The 2020 Budget is the same as last year; \$8,700 with no assessment for 2020. Current balance in the checking account is \$16,455.99 with three checks to be paid: Singer Accounting Audit of WCTCC, \$1,300; SYF Computer Solutions for the

Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee

Tuesday, January 27, 2020-Page 2

website, \$263.54; and invoice for Solicitor's fees, \$1,380. Ms. Mills reported the following municipalities have not paid the assessment; Arona Borough, \$8.36; Export Borough, \$21.80; Fayette City Borough, \$14.25; Oklahoma Borough, \$19.75; Trafford Borough, \$80.94; and Vandergrift Borough, \$109.12, for a total of \$254.22. Scott Sistek directed the Treasurer to reissue the assessments for payment and asked those members in attendance who are familiar with these boroughs to bring the matter to their attention, so all assessments are paid in full.

Joe Koluder, Jr. **MOVED** to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented, and Diane Schaefer **SECONDED**. No discussion. **Motion carried**.

COMMITTEE REPORTS-No Reports.

SOLICITOR'S REPORT-Attorney John Prorok reported for Solicitor Lawrence Maiello.

- 1. **Update on Appeal-Joseph Whiteford.** Mr. Whiteford appealed his 2016 and 2017 Earned Income Taxes (EIT). The Appeal was denied by the WCTCC Tax Appeal Board. In 2018, Mr. Whiteford asked for a refund and a hearing in person. The WCTCC Tax Appeal Board convened but Mr. Whiteford did not show so the decision on that Appeal is pending.
- 2. **Tax Collector Contract Ending 2021.** The current contract with Berkheimer expires at the end of 2021. Consideration to extend that contract will be revisited at the January 2021 WCTCC Meeting.
- 3. **By-Laws Review.** Tax Appeal Board Process, Article 7, Section 5 was reviewed. The current provision permits an Appeal to be taken to the Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) from a decision by the Board. After review, it was recommended to propose an amendment which would delete that right to appeal for mediation. The DCED does not have the infrastructure to handle these appeals, so the proposal would be to delete those provisions under Section 5 dealing with an Appeal to the DCED for mediation; the decisions of the WCTCC Tax Appeal Board will be final and binding. An amendment to the By-Laws is considered a major decision, therefore, to amend the By-Laws, a roll call vote must be taken.

Charles Cook **MOVED** to remove from Article 7, Section 5, the last line of Paragraph B followed by Items 1, 2, and 3, amending the By-Laws. A roll call vote was taken. Unanimously all voted yes (60.15%) to amend the By-Laws as presented. **Motion carried.**

AGENDA

- 1. **2020 Budget.** Paul Sroka **MOVED** to approve the 2020 Budget as presented earlier in the meeting, and Diane Schaefer **SECONDED**. No further discussion. **Motion carried**.
- 2. Selection of 2020 Operating Board. The WCTCC Operating Board must have 10 members; five members representing School Districts and five members representing Municipalities and no more than two can come from within the same School District boundaries. Caprice Mills polled the current Board members and all agreed to be reappointed.

 Joe Koluder, Jr. MOVED to approve the members for reappointment to the 2020 WCTCC Operating Board as presented, and Michelle Krebs SECONDED. No further discussion. Motion
- 3. Statement of Financial Interests. Scott Sistek reminded the WCTCC members the Statement of Financial Interests Forms required by the State Ethics Commission are due to Caprice Mills by May 1, 2020.

Adjournment – Joe Koluder, Jr. MOVED to adjourn the meeting. SECONDED: Diane Schaefer.

Respectfully submitted,

carried.

Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee Tuesday, January 27, 2020-Page 3